BACK TO TOP

Jordan Rakei’s new YouTube series shows him making ‘A Song From Nothing’

Although at the time of writing, we’ve all been advised to stay firmly put in our houses, musicians, artists and producers are taking advantage of the technology available to us to provide the content we’ve always wanted. As events, shows and concerts cancel around the globe, Jordan Rakei, the 27-year-old musician/producer signed to Matt Black‘s Ninja Tune label, has found his own way to chime in.

As announced on Twitter, A Song From Nothing premieres today at 4 pm GMT/12 pm ET/9 am PST on Rakei’s YouTube channel. In this series, Rakei says he will “be starting a song from scratch and [I’ll] go through [his] production techniques”. Rakei has worked with the likes of Tom Misch and Loyle Carner, two young heavy hitters in the UK music scene. Today, he also posted his live session of Mad World, in which he performs with an AKAI MPK261, piano, additional vocalists and a live drummer. Check it out below.

Jordan Rakei isn’t the only one to use streaming as a platform to continue sharing his work with fans. Although Beardyman is known for his wacky yet impressive live stream music content, he’s recently uploaded a Music in Isolation stream, as well as interviews with scientists on the topic of COVID-19. If you’re a fan of all of this, it’s also very important to check out Marc Rebillet, it’s all quite impressive stuff.

Tune into Jordan Rakei’s YouTube channel at 4pm GMT here

For more music tech news click here.

The post Jordan Rakei’s new YouTube series shows him making ‘A Song From Nothing’ appeared first on MusicTech.